Certain food items are considered appropriate for the kosher style of life. Most grains, vegetables and fruits are considered kosher. The meat, eggs and milk of certain animals are permitted for consumption, while others are not; however, meat and milk are never combined. Certain laws specify how the animal in question should be prepared and which parts of the animal are most appropriate for consumption. With that in mind, specific foods (such as meat and milk) should not be consumed at the same time. Individuals consuming both items should allow for a stretch of time between each item. Wines and fruit juices must be approved before they can be categorized as kosher. These beverages can be approved by a rabbi or kashrut supervision agency.
Although Jewish law dictates how one can keep kosher, many of today's modern Jewish families and individuals interpret the kosher laws in unique ways depending on their lifestyle. Many families comply with the kosher laws while observing certain Jewish holidays, but do not abide by the rules throughout the year. Other families incorporate the lifestyle in all respects, passing on the traditions to their children and grandchildren. Both families and individuals can benefit from gathering new information regarding kosher preparation, recipes and customs. Several groups have taken action and organized events as part of a worldwide movement to promote the kosher lifestyle and traditions. One of these events is Kosherfest, the world's largest kosher-certified products trade show, injecting excitement and flavor into the kosher tradition.
The following websites provide additional information about the kosher tradition and lifestyle: